Night sky.

20140712-221716-80236691.jpg

I think my favourite thing to do when life gets too overwhelming will always be to look up at the sky and lose myself in it, it brings me back to earth if you will.

It’s only really in that moment that I realise how insignificant I and my problems really are and honestly, I’m okay with that. I’m fine with knowing that my existence won’t be missed by the masses because it encourages me to ensure it’s not only missed but cherished by those that are close to me. I don’t need to mean something to everyone but I’ll be damned if I don’t at least mean something to everyone I know. More importantly, I’m fine with knowing that my problems aren’t that big under a sky that witnesses the cruelty of the world day in and day out.

I don’t know, I guess looking up at the sky is the only thing that allows me to gain some perspective in the world – it’s the only genuine source of clarity that I can get. There’s just something comforting about the sky, probably the fact that you’ll never be the only one looking out at it. It’s almost as though you have company, a friend out there that you just don’t know about and probably never will. Do I sound crazy? Whatever.

It will always astonish me that this sky, this same sky that I now look up at covers the ENTIRE world. We’re all under it – it will always be the one thing that connects us. Sure, with 7 billion people in the world it may be hard to find something in common with every single individual (beside the fact we’re human) (I hope) (if you’re a zombie please stand up) but the sky is that one piece of the puzzle that connects every single one of us that have been and that will be.

It’s almost humbling, that I share or at lease have shared the sky with the greats but it’s also a tad heartbreaking that I also share it with the likes of murderers. The same sky to witness the birth of people is the same one to witness the demise of them.

I guess that’s just, as they say, life.

Leave a comment