Unhappiness.

“No one should ever ask themselves that: why am I unhappy? The question carries within it the virus that will destroy everything. If we ask that question, it means we want to find out what makes us happy. If what makes us happy is different from what we have now, then we must either change once and for all or stay as we are, feeling even more unhappy.” – Paulo Coelho

They say that unhappiness is only for those that have no purpose but in all honestly I think that is the biggest load of baloney I’ve ever read; how can one expect to never be unhappy when there is so much injustice in the world? Furthermore, how will we ever know true happiness if we’ve never experienced the opposite? I wouldn’t go so far as to say that unhappiness is healthy because it’s actually quite the opposite – it can lead you to self-destruction. You’ll search so far into the issue and into yourself that you’ll find problems that aren’t even there and the only way you can escape that torment is usually through a substance, luckily for me I’ve found music is just as effective as anything toxic.

I think the main problem with unhappiness is that only those who are going through it themselves can sympathise, if you’re happy you’re not expected to understand and in a way, I’m glad for your own sake that you can’t. However more importantly, it’s as if being unhappy is frowned upon and almost taboo. People don’t exactly talk about their problems now do they? I mean, how many times has somebody asked you if you’re ok and you’ve said yes even though you’re sat crying your heart out at that exact moment in time? Then again maybe this is because unhappiness is often misinterpreted as depression… I really don’t understand why people are expected to be 100% okay at every single moment in their lives. We all go through hardship and have off days and we ALL have our own burdens to bare, we’re only human after all. You never know what happens behinds closed doors. No one will be an all round positive and upbeat person 24/7 so if it’s entertainment you want then go and subscribe to Comedy Central.

“Don’t always assume a smile equals happiness.”

All I’m really trying to say is that you shouldn’t expect so much from people, somebody could have the weight of the world on their shoulders and still look into your eyes and tell you they’re fine. I’m not saying let’s all become therapists but a problem shared really is a problem solved (so cliché I know) and a moment of your time really could make the world of difference. You’re not obliged to listen to anyone’s problems but if you were to find yourself in a similar situation wouldn’t you like somebody to listen to you…

Oh and for those of you who are unhappy about anything in your life then I won’t lie and tell you that whatever you’re dealing with will get better because the reality is it might not, but what I can promise you is that you will learn to deal with it 🙂

Leave a comment