Escapism.

Is it weak to crave an escape from reality? To want to zone out for just a little while. To wish to be in a conscious state of unawareness? Because if it is then well, I’m happy to be weak…

Let’s not lie to ourselves; as great as the world can be at times the truth is, it’s still fucking shit. But, if we as people were to sit and wallow in the reality of life and the world we live in we’d either end up depressed, insane or both. It is this very reason why, as much as I dislike addicts a part of me will always sympathise with them. The world really is a disgusting place to be, it’s just sad that they lost their sense of reality.

We need forms of escapism – they’re basically deterrents, stopping us from losing our damn minds. Think about it; without TV, films, books, games, music, art etc what would you do? You’d be forced to do nothing but think 24/7. Forced to face reality. Forced into a state of helplessness where the only time you’d escape would be in your sleep. I mean, that is why we dream isn’t it? To create a ‘false reality’, one that we ourselves prefer? I, myself love to sleep for this very reason. It’s the perfect fix as the next best option would be death and I’m not quite ready for that.

Why change the world when I can simply close my eyes and create my own?

Anything we do in life is more or less to distract our attention thoughts. I used to hate myself for not being able to deal with reality 100% of the time but then I realised nobody can (nobody sane anyway). It’s impossible, the world isn’t great enough for that, nowhere near.

Everyone is allowed to forget, even if it’s just for a split second. It’s refreshing and sometimes, it’s exactly what you need. That’s what we’re all doing here right? On the internet I mean. We’re tuned into the world but at the same time, we’re completely deaf to it.

Great isn’t it.

*plays some trap music*

One thought on “Escapism.

Leave a comment