Coordinates.

I used to ask myself the question; why do people confide in strangers? I mean they have their friends and their family so why do they pour their deepest darkest secrets out online to people that 1) they don’t know and that 2) don’t really care? After reviewing the question over and over in my head the only logical explanation and conclusion that I can come to is that we people find solace in strangers.

Strange huh.

Now I myself don’t and will never confide in those that I don’t know personally OR plan to meet simply because I don’t believe it to be very wise to make yourself vulnerable to the ‘public’. Also, I’m very reserved about these things purely because I like my business to only concern those involved [DISCLAIMER: I don’t have trust issues I’m just cautious with whom I trust as everyone should be]. Having said that, I can totally understand why some people do do it. Take my blog for example; I have a platform on which I can say anything and everything so if I really wanted to spill a plethora of my most suppressed thoughts/experiences I could without the fear of those that know me best judging me because of it. Naturally anyone that reads these secrets will form some sort of opinion whether that be positive or negative but from my own personal experience the judgement of a stranger doesn’t exactly equate to much – a stranger judging you and somebody you’re close to judging you are two COMPLETELY different things. The former shouldn’t affect you as much as the latter because you don’t have any attachment or obligations to the individual so in theory, you shouldn’t care for their opinion because you’re not under any pressure to please them and that, that right there is the problem with our relationships as humans; we only ever want to please our loved ones and make them proud and this in turn forces us to have this façade that everything is hunky-dory 100% of the time when in reality, our entire world could be crushing around us.

Furthermore, if you take your average everyday friendship it isn’t exactly formed on the basis that you already know the ins and outs of one another, that all comes with time which is the total opposite to e-friendships as most of the people that ‘meet’ on-line will have read constant updates (which are essentially the individuals thoughts) daily before they actually meet said individual which allows their friendship to establish on a deeper level as they already have some insight to the inner workings on one another’s mind.

The reason I entitled this post coordinates is because I think the biggest factor which determines whether or not someone will open up or confide in you is the distance element because when you think about it; if you yourself felt that you could finally get everything you’ve built up and held inside of you for so long off your chest with someone that is more than happy to listen without the fear of probably ever bumping into them would you? Imagine the relief that would come with it…

I myself converse with individuals all over the globe who tell me their problems like we’ve been best friends for years and as much as I want to believe it’s my great advice they’re in search of a part of me thinks they’d be willing to tell anyone that was thousands of miles away and happy to listen.

I guess what I’m trying to say is, we’re all in search of someone that is as fucked up as we are.

Leave a comment